Virginia Reckless Driving Basics
What is Considered Reckless Driving in Virginia?
Reckless driving in Virginia is legally defined as driving a vehicle carelessly at a speed or manner that can endanger a person’s life or property, but it can consist of a few different traffic violations. Va. § 46.2-852. For example, driving over 80 mph or driving 20 mph or faster than the marked speed limit is considered reckless driving. This can also include driving in a manner that puts someone else (or their property) in danger or actually causing an accident that put their life or property at danger. It is a class 1 misdemeanor which carries a maximum fine of $2500, up to 12 months of jail time, and may result in the revocation of your driver’s license. Va. § 46.2-868.
What If it’s Your First Reckless Driving Offense?
Regardless of whether or not you’ve been charged with reckless driving before, you are still subject to the full scope of penalties that follow breaking the law. Your specific punishment will depend upon the facts of the case, your driving record, and the judge hearing your case.
How Will a Reckless Conviction Affect Your Record?
Because a reckless driving charge is a misdemeanor, rather than a traffic infraction, it will go on your criminal record. Reckless driving is also worth 6 DMV points, which will stay on your driving record for 11 years. This is why it is so important to hire an experienced attorney that can help reduce your reckless charge.
How We Can Help
The Pickett Law Group, PLLC is an experienced law firm with two generations of former prosecutors, who have fought from both sides of the courtroom on all types of legal issues including Reckless Driving charges. Our firm has fought to successfully protect the driving records of those convicted of Reckless Driving. Contact us today and we will begin fighting on your behalf.