Reckless Driving vs. Speeding in Virginia
What Exactly is Reckless Driving in VA
Reckless Driving is a unique charge in Virginia. Unlike a normal speeding ticket, Reckless Driving is charged as a class 1 criminal misdemeanor, meaning it is potentially punishable by up to one year in jail and up to a $2,500 fine. VA Code § 46.2-868. There are several different ways to be charged with Reckless Driving, these include:
(i) Exceed the posted speed limit by 20 miles per hour or more;
(ii) Exceed 80 miles per hour, regardless of the posted speed limit. VA Code § 46.2-862.
(iii) Drive a vehicle on any highway recklessly or at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb, or property. VA Code § 46.2-852.
Conviction of Reckless Driving will result in negative 4 or 6 DMV demerit points on your record depending on the speed you are convicted of driving. For a complete list of the demerit points associated with a Reckless Driving conviction see the list we have compiled for you here.
What Can Happen If I Am Convicted of Reckless Driving
The range of punishments for Reckless Driving vary dramatically in some cases. The court has the option of imposing a fine, jail time, or even suspending your license for a period of time. Not to mention, a conviction for Reckless Driving will result in a permanent criminal record. Because reckless driving is far more serious than a routine speeding ticket, it is critical you have competent legal representation before going to court on a Reckless Driving charge and pleading guilty without an attorney's assistance.
How We Can Help
The Pickett Law Group, PLLC is an experienced law firm with two generations of former prosecutors, who have fought from both sides of the courtroom on all types of legal issues including Reckless Driving charges. Our firm has fought to successfully protect the driving records of those convicted of Reckless Driving. Contact us today and we will begin fighting on your behalf.